Welcome to the official Toyota Cheetah page

All you want to know about the team

Online Tickets

EPCR CHALLENGE CUP Round of 16 TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Toyota Cheetahs vs ASM Auvergne Clermont

Posted on Friday, 05 Apr 2024

EPCR CHALLENGE CUP Round of 16  TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Toyota Cheetahs vs ASM Auvergne Clermont

Louis van der Westhuizen's 50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs

In the EPCR Challenge Cup Round of 16, the Toyota Cheetahs will take on ASM Auvergne Clermont on Saturday, 6 April. The action at Stade Marcel Michelin in Clermont, France, kicks off at 13:30 (SA time), and supporters can watch the game live on SuperSport.  

The Toyota Cheetahs secured a spot in the knockout stage despite narrowly missing out on home advantage. They finished third in Pool 1, earning a place alongside other qualified teams. Key victories include a home win against the Hollywoodbets Sharks.

Izak van der Westhuizen recently took over the reins from Hawie Fourie as head coach of the Toyota Cheetahs.

Coach Izak van der Westhuizen: "I think the guys know what is expected of them and the conditions. Playing is always difficult because you never know which side will arrive for the game. I think it helps a lot to have that experience within the group."

Captain Victor Sekekete: "From the boy's side, we are more eager, especially because we've been there, and last year's defeat to Toulon left a bitter taste in our mouths."

"There is more hunger, and what is important to us is the game management and to realize that when you're playing over there, anything can happen on the day. The most important thing is to ensure we control what we can control."

Louis van der Westhuizen will run onto the field for his 50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs.

The team for the significant encounter:

Toyota Cheetahs

15.       Tapiwa Mafura

14.       Daniel Kasende

13.        Munier Hartzenberg

12.        Reinhardt Fortuin

11.        Litha Nkula

10.        George Lourens                                                      

9.           Ruan Pienaar

8.           Friedle Olivier

7.           Oupa Mohoje

6.           Jeandré Rudolph

5.           Victor Sekekete (C )

4.           Carl Wegner

3.           Aranos Coetzee

2.           Louis van der Westhuizen (*50th cap for the Toyota Cheetahs)

1.           Schalk Ferreira

16.        Marko Janse van Rensburg

17.        Alulutho Tshakweni

18.        Laurence Victor

19.        Mzwanele Zito

20.        Gideon van der Merwe

21.        Siba Qoma

22.        Andell Loubser

23.        Rewan Kruger  

Match officials: The referee for the match is Sam Grove-White. He will be assisted by Ian Kenny and Ru Campbell. Andrew McMenemy is the TMO.  

Share this article: